Made Jam
  Re: (...)
Well 2009 jam making is done. We only made about 1/2 as much as we usually do. Saturday we made 4 batches of blackberry, Sunday made 19 batches: Raspberry, marrionberry, blackberry-raspberry and rasberry-huckleberry. (is it el or le - I can never rembmer!)

Total 209 jars. Got some cute pictures of the kids helping. If I ever get a computer up and running that can do pictures, I'll post them. Steve and I have been making jam every year for 9 years now. We grow the berries, pick them and freeze then make jam. Usually in November but with the hectic year, we were lucky to get any made this year at all.
Erin
Mom to three wonderful 7th graders!
The time is flying by.
  Re: Made Jam by esgunn (Well 2009 jam making...)
If I left berries in my freezer for a couple months like that, I wouldn't have any left to make jam with! Well done, Gunn Family! I can't wait to see the pictures!
Daphne
Keep your mind wide open.
  Re: Re: Made Jam by Gourmet_Mom (If I left berries in...)
Oh my, I do remember those days!! I look at the puny quantity of canning I do now, and wonder if it's worth it - until I open something and it's so much better than purchased.

Another hurray for the Gunn Gang!!

(it's huckleberry.... )
Retired and having fun writing cookbooks, tasting wine and sharing recipes with all my friends.
www.achefsjourney.com
  Re: Made Jam by esgunn (Well 2009 jam making...)
Wow, Erin, that's a lot of jam!! I'll bet those photos are sweet!!
  Re: Re: Made Jam by (Wow, Erin, that's a ...)
209 jars of jam??? Really??? Wow-- what an incredible accomplishment, Erin (and kids!).
Vicci

my cooking adventures
www.victoriasdays.blogspot.com
  Re: Re: Made Jam by foodfiend (209 jars of jam??? ...)
Thanks everyone!! It really is hard to get mentally ready to make that much, but once we are in our groove, it really goes smoothly. And we are always glad we did it!
Erin
The time is flying by.
  Re: Re: Made Jam by esgunn (Thanks everyone!! ...)