My Gram's Holiday Salad
  Re: (...)
I grew up with this salad being on our table for every Thanksgiving and Christmas. Served on my Mom's white, silver-rimmed salad plate, dolloped on a leaf of iceberg lettuce, with a spoonful of mayo on top (not on mine, though).

I made this for our first Thanksgiving, 25 years ago, when we were married and I invited my in-laws over since we couldn't make it to be with my family (I worked in retail then). My SIL poked a little fun at the "jello salad" but she soon regretted her words.

This salad is full of surprises. Bound together by just a little gelatin, there is the tang of cranberry, crunch of celery, crisp of apple, juiciness of orange pieces, crunch of nuts-- all rolled into one bite! I could eat a whole bowlful by myself.

And I decided to share it with you guys, I don't even think that I've posted it on my blog before.

* Exported from MasterCook *

Gram's Holiday Salad

Recipe By: Myrtle Zimmerman
Servings: 10

Amount Measure Ingredient -- Preparation Method
-------- ------------ --------------------------------
2 cups water
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 cups fresh cranberries
2 envelopes unflavored gelatin(envelope)
1 cup cold water
1 cup chopped nuts -- pecans, walnuts, or mix
1 cup chopped celery
2 medium Granny Smith apples -- chopped
2 medium oranges -- peeled, sectioned, and chopped

Boil 2 cups water and sugar for 5 minutes.

Add cranberries and boil for an additional 5 minutes

Mix gelatin and 1 cup cold water in a small bowl. Add to cranberry mixture and stir until completely dissolved.

Chill until soft (will take about 1-1/2 to 2 hours), then fold in remaining ingredients. Transfer to a serving bowl, if desired.

Cover tightly and chill overnight.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Per serving: 264 Calories (kcal); 8g Total Fat; (26% calories from fat); 4g Protein; 47g Carbohydrate; 0mg Cholesterol; 18mg Sodium