3-Cheese Potato Gratin, Issue 37, p19
  Re: (...)
Regarding the recipe for 3-Cheese Potato Gratin in issue 37, page 19, could you advise me how to prepare this recipe as a make-ahead or as a partial preparation for finishing later at another location? We will be visiting friends for Christmas dinner (about 30 miles away) and would like to bring this as a side dish. Or would you advise making it at home completely and reheating at our friends home? This is the best potato gratin recipe we have ever made. Sometimes we add sauteed mushrooms, or diced ham, or diced prosciutto or even diced parboiled asparagus.
  Re: 3-Cheese Potato Gratin, Issue 37, p19 by rrky (Regarding the recipe...)
Not being a caterer or chef, I probably should leave this alone, but...until one of them shows up I will throw in my 2 cents. Since the potatoes will darken, I would be hesitant to prep ahead unless submerged in liquid. I don't have the recipe in front of me. Could you parbake it? I'm not sure. I have sliced my potatoes and submerged them in water under refrigeration to keep them form darkening before. Then you could measure and store ingredients as they are added and cook the dish at your friends house. The problem with this is if she is going to be using the oven and at what temp. There's just a lot of "Ifs" in there. If it was me, I'd probably parbake or bake completely and reheat.

I guess we'll see what the pros have to say.
Daphne
Keep your mind wide open.
  Re: Re: 3-Cheese Potato Gratin, Issue 37, p19 by Gourmet_Mom (Not being a caterer ...)
I'm in the same boat as Daph, so I shouldn't even talk. But, whenever i do something like that, I prepare ahead and be just a bit generous with the liquids. Bake about 10min short of time and finish at location. Not sure if it will work with this one, but Denise or Jean will know and I'm sure they will school you on this
Cis
Empress for Life
  Re: Re: 3-Cheese Potato Gratin, Issue 37, p19 by farnfam (I'm in the same boat...)