Had To Come Back On For This!
  Re: (...)
Those who used to be on c2c may remember Roberto - he had some of the best recipes I've ever tried. They were all old family dishes and he always had a story to go along (and sometimes pictures) with every post.

Maryann and Cis, I'll be so glad to hear if you know of this and/or any of the dishes he mentions....recipes would be nice also.

I have a bowlful of hard cooked egg and when I did a search on Master Cook, this one of his popped up. I think everyone on here will thoroughly enjoy the story and hopefully the cold pizza. I printed it out to make, I hope it doesn't get buried. Enjoy!

Sfincuiuni - Cold Pizza

There were a few dishes that Grandma made that Mom could not make as well - This is one of them. I never really paid too much attention to Grandma's "Sfinciuni" when I was a kid - but it was my first cousin Frankie Vona's favorite and, as was custom back then when your birthday came around Grandma made you whatever you requested. More often than not we'd have a small party at Grandma's house because we all knew that we'd have a feast if we went to her, rather than her bringing the requested dish to the celebrant.

Frankie's birthday was near Halloween and beside the stuffed pizza Grandma would bake "Pani de Catstagna" - Chestnut bread - She'd always tell us that this was a bread of "Those Northern Gavones" and that it wasn't very good, but if we could stand it we were welcome to it. This was more of a mix between a bread and a heavy cake and it was made with chestnuts ground fine until it was almost a paste, raisins, figs, blanched almonds and flavored with a large amount of brandy. She'd usually make it the night before because, she said, the flavor improved somewhat with age and maybe you could eat it that way. Chestnut bread was one of the best things that ever came out of Italy - There were, as a matter of course, several injuries as family members vied for the bread of the "Northern Louts".