The elusive paprika schnitzel
  Re: (...)
I tried a recipe for paprika schnizel that sounded closest to my memories of the dish. I did make some adjustments. It was very good (like I actually forgot my manners and tried to get every last bit of the sauce with my fingers) but it wasn't "right". I am not very good at the "what is missing from this recipe" game. Is it possible to cook paprika too long? The recipe dictates that you heat fat, add paprika. Then add sliced onions and cook. Then you add the pork cutlet to brown on both sides. All this while, the paprika is, of course, still in the pan. Then you are supposed to add sour cream, but I was fairly sure this wasn't the version I sought. I added a bit of chicken broth and a tablespoon of sourcream to thicken. Like I said, it was delicious, but not what I had hoped for. There just seemed to be a brightness missing from the paprika. Then again, maybe my memories have been skewed over time. I will try this again, adding the paprika later to see if I get any closer.
Theresa
Theresa

Everything tastes better Alfresco!
  Re: The elusive paprika schnitzel by chef_Tab (I tried a recipe for...)
First, I would guess that the quality and freshness of the paprika would be important here. Next, I agree that adding the paprika BEFORE the onions seems a little odd, but I know NOTHING about German dishes, sooooo...

Hopefully, one of the more knowledgeable members will be along soon. Labs, Jean, and Sharon have done quite a bit of ethnic cooking, as well as LJ, but he is not able to be here often due to work.
Daphne
Keep your mind wide open.
  Re: Re: The elusive paprika schnitzel by Gourmet_Mom (First, I would guess...)
Tabs, I would suggest when you try it next time, you might add paprika at the beginning as it calls for, then adding more towards the end of cooking. Adding it at the start builds up a nice flavor.