HEIRLOOM TOMATOES
  Re: (...)
HI,

I am soooooooo excited ...going to the farm tomorrow that has 125 different heirloom tomatoes. CANNOT wait...what a variety. Check their website..it is very impressive.
http://www.growbetterveggies.com/

You can click on the pictures and see all different kinds they grew last year.

WOO HOOOOOO
  Re: HEIRLOOM TOMATOES by piano226 (HI,[br][br]I am sooo...)
My mom usually grows several varieties of heirloom tomatoes every year. Lots of colors, flavors and shapes. They are very cool. She's taking a year off though, or so she says. They will be missed, by all, if she follows through. Bummer. Heirlooms are really great!
"Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time."
Laura
  Re: Re: HEIRLOOM TOMATOES by luvnit (My mom usually grows...)
Heirloom tomatoes look beautiful and very colorful. How do they differ in taste from regular homegrown toms?
  Re: Re: HEIRLOOM TOMATOES by coco hernandez (Heirloom tomatoes lo...)
While I am not a tomato expert I have listened to the likes of people like guests on Martha Stewart, etc. about these gems. I would have to agree that the heirloom tomatoes I have encountered are really juicy and more flavorful. However, to me, they are comparible to your own homegrown variety. But again, I am not an expert and to an heirloom tomato grower they can taste the more subtle differences. My palate is not that developed. I love a great well-ripened garden tomato. Way more flavor than store quality.
"Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time."
Laura
  Re: Re: HEIRLOOM TOMATOES by luvnit (While I am not a tom...)
Heirloom tomatoes have their seeds harvested from crop to crop to ensure the line stays intact. Many gardeners who are fanatics will not share their seeds as they have been in their families for years. They are not hybrids like so many of our fruits and veggies are. (ie disease resistant, low water, etc) The tomatoes are very flavorful and also colorful as they have different colors that swirl thru the flesh.