Newbie Seeks Thanksgiving Help
  Re: (...)
Hi Guys,

I'm new and this is my first time making Thanksgiving for my friends. I need a lot of help.

I need suggestions for a pecan pie and instructions on making a crust b/c I can never seem to do those right.

Also, I wanted to spice up the traditional green bean casserole and cranberry sauce dishes.

Any ideas?
  Re: Newbie Seeks Thanksgiving Help by Allysa (Hi Guys,[br][br]I'm ...)
Welcome to the forums, Allysa! I'm not a pie person ( I usually buy the frozen shells), but for the cranberries. Follow the directions on the back of the bag, but add half a cinnamon stick, some grated lemon and orange peel, and a bit of the orange juice. Great stuff! Good luck!
Practice safe lunch. Use a condiment.
Allysa,

If you have trouble with crusts, I would suggest you use the Pillsbury refrigerated crusts, just unroll and shape. They're pretty good, and sometimes you just need to take a shortcut. Just let them sit at room temp for (whatever package says) minutes.

I'll look and see if C@H has a pecan pie.

Welcome, Allysa!

PJ
PJ
Welcome to CAH. To tell you the truth, I usually buy my pies from a local fruit stand that makes them from scratch. My pie crusts suck so if I do make one I use Pillsbury.
Don't wait too long to tell someone you love them.

Billy
  Re: Re: Newbie Seeks Thanksgiving Help by pjcooks (Allysa,[br][br]If yo...)
Is Pillsbury really the best way to go? I'm willing to put in the time if it's worth it, but everyone seems to think it's not.
  Re: Re: Newbie Seeks Thanksgiving Help by Allysa (Is Pillsbury really ...)
If I were giving my first [or in my case 30th] Thanksgiving dinner, I would not chance making my own crust unless I had experience at doing so. If you've made them before, I'd say go ahead and do so. If not, I wouldn't. Practice a few times first dear. Here's what CAH has to say:

Butter Pie Dough

(Makes One 9" Single Piecrust
Can be Doubled)

Work Time:
10 Min. + Chilling

Combine: