UBB.threads ™ Groupee, Inc. 

General Discussion >> Cooking

Pages: 1
HerGrammy
Fryer

Reged: 11/21/04
Ground beef is rubbery
      #5149 - 11/21/04 05:06 PM

I've been cooking for almost forty years - (that's probably the problem, I am burnt out.) Anyway, lately my old recipes don't seem to come out the same. For example, the chili I made yesterday with 85% ground beef - the beef (crumbled) was so rubbery. What am I doing? I browned it slowly and drained it and added it to the usual recipe. Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
VegasDramaQueen
Sous Chef

Reged: 04/14/04
Loc: Las Vegas, Nevada
Re: Ground beef is rubbery
      #11195 - 11/22/04 11:49 AM

I discovered something a long time ago that I'd like to pass on to you. Ground beef is just that - ground beef. It doesn't necessarily mean that you're getting ground steak, or ground pot roast, etc. You could be getting any combination of ground meat from the steer, (or cow for that matter). Beef legally means any part of the animal. It's possible that if you're buying very cheap ground beef that you could be getting some rubbery, tough part of the steer. Buy from a reputable butcher or supermarket. Or better yet, do what I do, buy a grinder and grind your own. Not only is is much safer, but you know what you're getting. The ratio of 15% fat to 85% lean is a good one.

Gloria2b
Chef de partie

Reged: 03/26/02
Loc: Corpus Christi, Texas
      #11196 - 11/22/04 02:36 PM

I have to say I agree with VegasDramaQueen!!!

Unless the ground beef you buy states ground chuck, sirloin, etc there is no way to know what it is or how it will taste.

Locally, a new meat market opened and they sell black angus meat...really good... plus we also grind our own... much better that way.

Also, for us we use very lean meats including ground because of my ongoing... will not go away health problems.